Mommy training

I never knew there were two kinds of dogs – the ones you treat like a pet and the ones you treat like your kid.

Doyle is our kid.

So one of the things Mike is teaching me on this new adventure together is how to be a good mom to Doyle. I’ve learned how to read him so I know when he wants to eat, poop, or needs water. I’ve trained myself to put the toilet seat down so Doyle doesn’t drink from the toilet (ewww) and to wipe his paws every time we come in from a poop.

My latest task is to learn how to properly feed him a breath bone. According to the instructions the dog needs to suck on the bone before swallowing it .  Problem #1 – if you’ve ever met Doyle you know that he doesn’t eat; he inhales. Sooo…. if I follow the directions I need to hold out the bone and have Doyle suck on it except when I tried that last time he almost bit my hand off.

So, with a bit of encouragement from Mike here’s my second attempt:

Jar O' Bones

Jar O' Bones

Step 1: Keep Doyle at a distance as you pull the bone from the Jar O' Bones.

Step 1: Keep Doyle at a distance as you pull out the bone from the Jar O' Bones.

Step 2: On the balcony let Doyle chew off his first piece (of the bone, not your finger).

Step 2: On the balcony let Doyle chew off his first piece (of the bone, not your finger).

Step 3: Doyle stars at you with sad puppy eyes and you just give him the rest of the bone.

Step 3: Doyle stares at you with sad puppy eyes and you just give him the rest of the bone.

Third time’s a charm?

One thought on “Mommy training

Leave a Reply

