Domesticated Diva – NOT!

So, I’m the type of girl who wants it all.  I want to be a career woman, a loyal friend, a grateful daughter, and now a fabulous wifey!  Taking a page from the 1950’s, pre-bra burning era a wifey takes care of the home, her husband, and her childern.  Although I firmly stand by some of my feminist thinking I do want to be good at all of those “domestic” duties.

Challenge #1 – Improve cooking skills.

Yesterday, I decided to surprise Mike and cook dinner for us. I pulled up a recipe titled “Easy Chicken Cutlet” – sounded like something right up my alley – and chose instant pasta as my side.

I started by pulling out a few different bowls – one for the eggs, one for the bread crumbs, and another for the washed chicken (apparently I’m overly paranoid about salmonella).  I rummaged through the cupboard for different spices to sprinkle on the chicken once I had breaded it and pulled out the frying pan.  Then poured a cap full of oil onto the pan and threw on my first cutlet.

I questioned myself on how long I should leave the chicken cooking on each side and so ran to ask Mike.  When I got back there was an unusual amount of smoke in the air. I flipped over the chicken per Mike’s instructions and realized I was a little too late.  The chicken was mostly black and crispy.  I finished cooking that piece and put the next cutlet on the pan. I did this 5 times…apparently I’m not a person who improves with trial and error (at least when it comes to cooking).

Needless to say, we didn’t really enjoy the Surprise Chicken Cutlet meal. BUT I did force us to eat it!

Smokey, messy kitchen

Smokey, messy kitchen

Yummy Burnt Chicken

Yummy Burnt Chicken

Mike showing me how it's done

Mike showing me how it's done

Leave a Reply

