Favorite Posts of the Week – 2/3 Edition

Happy Friday to all!

It’s finally Friday and I couldn’t be more relieved. I’ve enjoyed reading the blogs this week to help me escape the hectic work week (even if it’s just for a few minutes at a time).

Here are my favorites from the week of January 31st:

I’ve been working on creating a romantic, serene master bedroom at Casa Martinez for the past year or so. We’ve come a long way from ugly brown carpets to beautiful hardwood floors and dated vertical blinds to romantic, sheer curtains. However, one trouble spot the hubbie and I cannot conquer is keeping our nightstands clutter-free. This week Houzz.com inspires us to maintain beautiful nightstands free of mess with a few helpful tips.

Suite Dreams modern bedroom
I love DIY projects! Well I love pinning them, but one day I’ll actually start creating more of what I’m pinning. This week Home Stories A to Z featured a pallet DIY project that’s absolutely adorable. I’ve noticed pallet projects are really trendy now (probably perpetuated through Pinterest), but this one really caught my eye.  My sister-in-law (aka Fit Chick on the Fly) loves pallet DIYs and has created a few new nice pieces for her house. Are YOU obsessed with pallet projects?
I L-O-V-E this pallet DIY project!

In Miami, it’s basically springtime; and it’s my favorite time of the year! The days are warm (not horribly humid) and the nights have a cool(ish) breeze. It’s a perfect time of the year to start bringing out your pastels. When I think spring, I think pastels. On Wednesday, Pepper Design Blog posted their Pastel Style Board highlighting some trends for spring 2012. Warning they use terms like “sorbet”, “cantaloupe”, and “honeydew” to describe some of the hot spring colors which left me craving something sweet. This is my favorite look out of the bunch – which is perfect for a Sunday brunch or even some drinks with friends on a Friday night.

Spring Pastels

Just two weeks ago my bff Suzell launched her own blog – Susy Home Maker. The blog will chronicle her life as she tackles home remodeling, marathon training, and – her passion – traveling. She’s tons of fun and some of the things that happen to her are pretty hysterical so I’m certain you’ll thoroughly enjoy catching up with her through her blog. This week, she got me thinking about my “Travel Bucket List” and where I want my travels to take me. What do you think about her travel plans? Check her out and leave her a comment welcoming her to the world of blogging. 🙂

Where would you rather be right now?

Check out other “gems” I discovered on my favorite blogs by browsing through my latest pins on Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

