Jason Wu Insanity at 8am

Every year for the last 15 years the girls in my family wake up at 5am on Black Friday to shop! We brave the lines, aggressive shoppers, and insomnia for the great sales stores reward us with for being “early bird” shoppers.

My 15 years of Black Friday experience could not prepare me for what I was about to experience yesterday morning for the debut of the Jason Wu for Target collection.  My cousin and I arrived at our local Target 5 minutes before the opening of the store. There was a line of about 15 people waiting outside which actually made me happy becuase I was worried there would be a large mob waiting ahead of us. The store opened a few minutes late (roughly 8:03am) and everyone rushed to the Jason Wu area. The rest is all a haze – there were arms flying everywhere, women rushing from one aisle to the other, and clothes vanishing right before my very eyes. In less than 5 minutes EVERYTHING was gone! You heard me….in 5 minutes or less 4 racks full of clothes were GONE!

 

Thankfully I was able to get my hands on a few pieces before I was left standing there in the middle of several empty racks wondering what had just happened.  By then everyone had rushed over to the fitting room to try all the different pieces they were able to scoop up.

After collecting our thoughts and breathing for a minute, my cousin and I headed to the fitting room and walked into more madness. Girls were exchanging pieces while hovering over the “return rack” waiting to immediately grab the pieces that other girls were deciding not to take with them. It was insanity…nothing like I had ever seen in 15 years of Black Friday shopping.

Overall, I thought that Jason Wu’s Collection was nice and full of great professional pieces for the office. I wasn’t really able to take a look at every single piece that was available for purchase (there was NO time to think…just GRAB), but I did see a few girls holding a few cute dresses and tops.

Here’s what I ended up with:

Jason Wu for Target - Pleated Skirt in Black

Jason Wu for Target - Pleated Skirt in Black

Jason Wu for Target - Short-Sleeve Tee with Tie in Cream

Leave a Reply

