Feel like a fashionista. Add layers!

I have a confession to make. I’m not a fashionista. I like shopping, I like looking good, and I like getting complimented on my outfits, BUT I kinda hate having to put outfits together.

Figuring out what to wear is sometimes a very time consuming process for me. In my mind, fashionistas can look at their closet and mix and match pieces they own to create an entirely new outfit. This is where I fall short. I look at my closet and all I see are old clothes and wear them pretty much exactly in the same way every time.

When I’m in the mood to switch things up my trick is to pull inspiration from several sources – like fashion blogs, celebrities, and Pinterest. One thing I always seem to gravitate towards is the layered look…and truthfully, I think that must be a chapter in the fashionista rule book. I’ve learned that layering is key – especially when you’re trying to freshen up your old wardrobe.

Jackets with scarves, a cardigan with a belt around the waist, necklaces of multiple lengths, layered tees, or a watch with several bangles and bracelets on the same arm…all different ways of layering. Here’s a round up of inspiration I found on Pinterest.

Do YOU use the layering trick?

Update:

Today while checking out the latest pins on Pinterest, I found this VERY timely image. A step-by-step guide to layering!!!! (I’m kinda on a high right now since this validates my layering theory). The step-by-step guide was originally posted by Made By Girl on her blog. Some of the styles are a little too gutsy for me, but I’m liking the sequins option. What do you think?

Update: Step-by-step layering

By MadeByGirl

Leave a Reply

