DIY: Multi-media Artwork

As you’re probably starting to tell, I’m a wannabe artist. I have a small collection of acrylic paints, inexpensive brushes, and a few canvas boards sitting in my closet for that moment where I get a bit of inspiration. I have a few pieces of “artwork” that I created around the house like the Iconic Monuments sketches I created for our guest bathroom.

Early last year when I first discovered Pinterest, I started to collect inspiration for my next project. I’ve loved the bird trend since my wedding in 2009 and wanted to create something fun and colorful for my guest bedroom.

I pulled inspiration from several places – use of yellowed pages as a background, the way the cute birds were perched on a branch, and the playful design of the flowers.

Where do YOU find your inspiration?

If you want to pull off this cool background let me recommend Mod Podge. Overall it wasn’t an easy task, but what I found was the best method was to layout the pattern for your background, then use the Mod Podge to paste the pages to the canvas, and once that dries brush a coat of Mod Podge to secure all of the paper edges down. Once that’s dry then you can begin to paint over it.

Do YOU have experience with creating multi-media artwork? Do YOU have any tips for me??

P.S. Sorry the images aren’t that great; our camera broke and so I’m stuck using my camera phone.

Leave a Reply

